kim.jpg

What’s your name and where d’you come from?

My name is Kim Szelong. I am originally from Portsmouth but my family relocated to a scenic location situated on the foot of the Scottish highlands. Yes, I enjoy living in London, but I’m really a country girl at heart.

What is the most common misconception?

People don’t expect me to do what I do as a job. I’m a girly girl. I enjoy shopping and hanging out with my friends. Often, people are shocked that I’m a web developer, twinkling with electronics which is something people don’t expect from me. Most people would consider me working in the fashion industry, but I am not fashionable whatsoever. At Studio XO, I was a technician putting electronics into clothing called wearable technology. My work would go to conferences to demonstrate how it works. And for the music industry and artists like Lady Gaga, Black Eyed Peas and Calvin Harris.

What’s your favourite thing about your job?

I like building stuff. Since I was little, I used to break up toys especially Lego and make them better. Creating things everyday is incredibly satisfying. With programming, I have the chance to express my creativity and be a problem solver. There are different ways to be creative to solve the problem. Adaptive Lab is a great environment to be surrounded by people to bounce ideas off.

What do you want to learn more about? (related to your job or not)

I have a list of ambitions of things I would like to do. I have so many interests so I will never reach the bottom. Instead, I would like to focus on programming and becoming excellent at what I do - that will be a good place to start. I also would like to gain more skills. I draw everyday, however I haven’t painted for years. I would like to dedicate time to learn how to paint and overcome my fear of a blank canvas. I would like to learn piano. However, I don’t have the time to pursue that right now. I do, however want to build confidence in both myself and my public speaking ability, so I can encourage younger people to get into technology.

Describe your ideal day.

I would begin my day with a good breakfast - bread, bacon, coffee - at a lovely cafe. I would then meet up with my friends to walk around London markets. I love markets. In the afternoon, I would go to an exhibition on technology art or animations. Followed by meeting my parents and sister to have dinner at a restaurant in a high-rise building that overlooks London’s skyline. Then retire at home with a cup of tea and a book or movie depending on how tired I feel.

Marmite - love it or hate it?

I love my marmite.

Where’s Wally?

On the roof!